– I’d LOVE to – Visit The Ghost Town of Chernobyl in the Ukraine

Imagechernobylopen 1

chernobyl openc4e91_Chernobyl-Today-A-Creepy-Story-told-in-Pictures-funfair

(Images from onlyhdwallpapers.com; flicker.com; funny.funnyoldplanet.com; entertainmentfuse.com)

Ever since I watched the Horror movie “The Chernobyl Diaries” I’ve been fascinated with this Ghost Town. I’ve seen all the pictures, watched all the youtube clips but I’m sure its a completely different thrilling experience being there to explore the deserted town yourself. This place actually exists!

Here’s the story of how this eerie town in Kiev  came to be a deserted: On April 26, 1986 Reactor number 4 at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant exploded. Almost 9 tons of radioactive materials – 90 times as much as the Hiroshima bomb- were cast into the sky. The disaster happened at night while the 14 000 civilian’s of Chernobyl were asleep. Only 40 hours later were the residents ordered to evacuate their town and most never returned.  The town was left to rot and is still facing the effects of the disaster today. Many living in the town had no idea of the dangers of radiation and left the hundreds ill and deformed.

chernobyl01 chernobyl03 chernobyl04 chernobyl05 chernobyl07 chernobyl06 chernobyl02 chernobyl08

(Images and info from losapos.com/chernobyl)

It’s quite bloodcurdling but I’d love to visit this ghost town. Long term access to the zone is forbidden but short term visits are allowed. Several tour operators offer guided visits into the zone of alienation.  Who else wants to take a walk down the empty streets of Chernobyl Ghost Town?

To see a video slideshow on the effects the radiation had on the townsfolk- go to this link. But I warn you – The images are quite shocking..

4 thoughts on “– I’d LOVE to – Visit The Ghost Town of Chernobyl in the Ukraine

  1. Hello, I’m from Ukraine.
    There are excursion tours to Pripyat now and It is completely safe. Person level of radiation is not greater than the tomography in a hospital. so it’s all real. one day you’ll come and see everything yourself.
    I`m planning to visit Chernobyl soon.
    Good luck with all your wishes.

    • hello Lilly,
      Nice to hear from you 🙂
      This is very interesting! I really hope one day I can come visit and see it for myself.
      Let me know how it goes ! Have you seen the Horror Film?
      Oh and please vote for me in the competition by going to this link and clicking the greentab
      that says “support and follow” so I can come to Chernobyl with you! http://bit.ly/15hSB4y

  2. Pingback: Chernobyl Diaries (2012) » Mean Goblin magazine Mean Goblin magazine

Leave a Reply

